So why do you think you are an expert card reader?

So why do you think you are an expert card reader?

  • you have read a number of books on a certain deck of cards 
  • you have done a handful of readings and they happened to come true
  • you have read the cards for many years 
  • you taught a workshop or two 
  • you come from a line of psychics and fortune tellers 
  • you get recommendations from other readers 
  • you took a course and received a certificate
  • you wrote a book

An expert is someone who has experience & knowledge & skills.

How do you train to be an expert card reader? By doing actual readings you will gain experience but it doesn’t stop there. You need to know your cards (knowledge). I think if you can read one deck of cards you can read many others as well. It doesn’t matter if it is a different so called system.

The art of reading cards is reading the cards. 

Laying bricks is laying bricks. They come in different colours, shapes and styles but they are still bricks. You can create many things like fireplaces, chimneys, house and patios. But they are still bricks. And you need to know that without mortar the bricks will not stay together. The only difference is you need a plan or design with all of those things I mentioned. If you cannot understand the plan or design then you will not be able to lay the bricks to produce the desired project. One more thing, you need to know where to cut the brick to make it fit because not all bricks fit especially at the end of the row. This is much like extracting the correct meaning of the cards to make them fit into the totality of the reading. This takes a certain amount of knowledge on how to put the bricks together just like when reading the cards you have to put them together to address a situation, to cover a topic or to answer a question. 

I think perception and intuition play a major role in card reading. To perceive is to grasp a concept. To grasp meaning being able to understand. The bricklayer needs to do this as well. If he cannot wrap his head around the idea of bricking a fireplace he can lay all the bricks he wants it will never be a fireplace. If you cannot wrap your head around the idea of reading cards in a layout then you are just reading the cards. Make sense?

There are many card readers that perform readings by repeated memorized meanings. They don’t add to it at all. I went to someone like that years ago when I was visiting another city.  I found myself asking what does that all mean after everything the guy said. I already knew but I wanted the card reader to explain it to me. I could see that he could not see past the memorized meanings he learned.  I came to the realization way back then that people read differently. Here I thought everyone read like I did. Well, they certainly don’t. Most clients won’t know the difference unless they have actually had another reading with someone who is perceptive then they can compare. Was that guy in the other city an expert card reader?  No, not to my way of thinking but he thought he was. He charged top dollar and people paid. 🙂  I paid for his time but not for his reading and he knew that. 

You don’t have to be an expert to be a good card reader. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “So why do you think you are an expert card reader?

  1. Thank you for your wonderful website. I subscribe and appreciate your thoughtful posts and shared expertise. However, this time I have a bit of a problem. You state: “I think if you can read one deck of cards you can read many others as well. It doesn’t matter if it is a different so called system.” Isn’t this a little like saying if you are a brick-layer then you can lay stone as well. Having watched expert stone-builders at work, I’d say that’s not true. And, in my experience, having read Tarot for over 45 years, when I took up Lenormand, I had to learn a whole new set of skills. Reading Lenormand is quite different than reading Tarot even when some of the skills are similar. Of course some people will read any set of cards the same way but only when they ignore the particularities of each set. For instance, Tarot readers might make much of a Lenormand Child card featuring a child catching a butterfly or rolling a hoop – oh, the symbolism of the butterfly or the circle of wholeness in movement! That’s not Lenormand. I agree that the art of reading the cards involves something well beyond memorization, but someone who is an artist at building respects the difference between bricks and natural stone, and not all brick-layers can create those beautiful domed brick ceilings like those found in Mexico. I would love to hear more from you, though, about the “art of reading” as I think you have a real skill and talent in that area.

    • Hi Mary,
      Thank you very much for your comments and compliments. I am a great fan of your work. I love some of the points you mentioned and do plan to share my thoughts in detail. It would make for a very compelling conversation since we both began reading Tarot around the same time. One difference being is I read playing/sibilla style cards prior to the Tarot (late teens).

      There is so much I would like to write about the ‘art of reading’ that I would like to meditate on my response to channel the correct wording to reflect my inner knowing. Also, my father was a brick/stone mason and that is why I used that example.

      In my post I wrote, “How do you train to be an expert card reader? By doing actual readings you will gain experience but it doesn’t stop there. You need to know your cards (knowledge). I think if you can read one deck of cards you can read many others as well. It doesn’t matter if it is a different so called system.”

      By knowing the bricks and stones (knowledge) one can create projects. The basic mechanics are the same. The laying of …stone/bricks/blocks..
      The reading of cards is similar. Yes, the various systems of cartomancy differ but the basics are the same. The art of reading the cards. When I say art I mean a way of carrying out the task (process) of reading.

      I think many readers transfer methods from one system to another as you mentioned about the Child card. Not all card readers keep to the traditional way of reading the Tarot or Lenormand. I am a self taught Tarot reader. As you know there was little written when ‘we’ began our journey with Tarot. I continued with extensive BOTA training. Over the years, the Tarot spoke outside of what I learned but the basics were the same. I would never use Tarot for fortune telling as I would the gipsy cards, etc.

      As far as the Lenormand, I learned to read them in a ‘fortune telling’ style which is the way they were intended to be read. Back in the earlier days when Lenormand cards began circulating there were only a select amount of people seeking more profound answers from a set of cards. These people belonged to secret societies or private schools. The line was rarely crossed. A Tarot practitioner rarely reads gipsy cards. Well, this is what I have gathered from reading many bios. Now-a-days, Tarot trained individuals venture into other areas of cartomancy such as Lenormand.

      “Not all brick-layers can create those beautiful domed brick ceilings like those found in Mexico.” …..response to be continued
      Sept 5.16: continued
      The art of laying bricks/blocks/stone is rooted in experience, knowledge and skills. Some decks are beautiful stones, some bricks and others blocks. Some readings are outstanding and others average. My father applied his intuition as well when creating masterpiece fireplaces. He knew what would work and what wouldn’t. The seasoned brick/stone layer develops this over time. With dad it was second nature.
      Hopefully, my explanation offers some additional insight into the topic. Thanks.

      Jozefa

Leave a Reply

