Who says you have to read the Lenormand 5 card layout using the middle card as the focus?

There are a variety of ways to read the 5 card layout using the Lenormand deck. You can read these cards any way you want. To fit into some study groups you may have to use the middle card as the focus of the reading. This method works fine and dandy. If you do not follow this style of reading the 5 cards that’s ok, too. However, you may be the “odd” one in some of these study groups and set yourself up for a bit of backlash. Yes, backlash. You never know who is reading your comment. Some individuals wake up in the morning and look for posts that they can verbally attack purely for the sake of causing chaos within the group.

When you dare to be different at least explain your findings for others especially in groups. If you are reading a client who cares how you read the cards as long as you are comfortable in your own methods.  

Seriously, there is no reason to read the 5 card layout the same way as everyone else with the exception that it is a decent guideline. We do need some structure when first learning cartomancy (fortune-telling by interpreting a random selection of playing cards). When I began reading I read left to right and to some degree still do. With the Tarot I read the positions of the Celtic cross unless I used other layouts. The only time any one of the cards in the 5 card layout might have been a focal card is when it was a strong topic/category. It was not always in the middle.

The 5 card layout featuring the Gilded Reverie Lenormand by Ciro Marchetti. Shuffling this deck is great. It has a wonderful glide so the rhythm of the shuffle flows. 

The question for the cards: Will Tom’s teenage son pass the 3 courses he is currently failing. I posed this same question in my FB Zigeuner Cards Community (Gipsy cards) study group. Let’s see what the Lenormand has to say.

Gilded Reverie Lenormand by Ciro Marchetti. Jan 22.16

The very first card is the Dog and it opens the reading. We can see the Letter card in the middle which is a pretty good representation of the school courses although the Book card would have been just as good. What do you suppose is the guidance of the Dog card? This is a friendly situation. Coupled with the Ring card the duo reveals a certain amount of commitment to the studies in the past (if you are using Letter as focus card). When reading left to right, as a rule, the cards are more now/future oriented unless the position in the layout clearly defines the position as past or passing. In this case there are no positional meanings.

The Ring/Letter combo emphasizes that a full circle is entirely possible in regards to Tom’s question. This means a passing grade is a high probability at this point in the layout.

The Letter/Heart duo suggests continued emotional dedication to pass. There is a hint with the Heart/Lady combination that Tom’s son may be in love and this gal will be instrumental in helping him to regain his passing grades.

There isn’t that much of a difference in the interpretation of the cards either by using the middle focal card or opening the reading with the first card. The Lady closes the reading so she will be the key to this situation. If she had a negative card beside her then her influence would have been detrimental to Tom’s son getting passing grades.

Normally, I don’t mirror cards but if I did, the Lady mirrors the Dog and that indicates a good friend. This is especially true because of the Ring and Heart companion cards.

Just out of curiosity let’s add up the 5 cards. 123 = 6 the Clouds. Tom’s son has his head in the clouds right now because of a special gal. 🙂

Other resources:
Madame Nadia  explores several layouts and provides easy to understand explanations. Click on her name and you will be taken to her website.

 

4 thoughts on “Who says you have to read the Lenormand 5 card layout using the middle card as the focus?

  1. The Dog card tells me that up to now Tom’s son has been faithful to his commitment to study. Love letters from or to a woman is distracting him hence his head in Clouds. But I see that she also could be a caring woman [Heart/Woman] who is a good friend [Dog mirror Woman] wanting to help him. I would like to say that I have just came across your site 2 or 3 weeks ago and haven’t been like a good book to put it down since. Because of you I have discovered and purchased the Zigeuner and Art Deco decks and I am absolutely fascinated by them. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for being so generous by sharing your knowledge with us. I have learned more in three weeks that I have in one year.

  2. Interesting, I think I tend to flip flop on a five card draw. Sometimes I draw randomly until I find the key card and then I look at the two preceding and following cards. At other times, I cut the deck and draw a card to be the middle/focus card and then draw two cards to the left and right. Then at other times I simply read 1-2-3-4-5. I think it depends on how I feel at that moment and in that given moment. I agree that it’s nice to have structure when learning, but one thing I’ve learned is that flexibility is an asset as we progress in our studies. Shame this is happening on study groups. The only thing I ask is for people to explain how they read a five card spread so we know where they’re coming from.

    Just out of curiosity is there a reason you don’t read using a mirror technique? Is it preference or experience? I used to not mirror, but I’ve found myself doing it quite a bit to reinforce certain assertions made. Thanks for the great post, as usual!

Leave a Reply

