Which GT 9×4 or 8×4 plus 4?

A. When I read the Grand Tableau layout I use the 9 x 4 layout.

B. For the Grand Tableau Lenormand Houses Reading I use the 8 x 4 plus 4 layout.

I like to use layout B. for the Houses reading because the Significator cards, Gentleman and Lady are centered quite nicely blending evenly with the final row of four cards. It’s easier to remember as well. Usually, the tenses are not read only the Houses. What I mean by this is that past, present and future is not singled out. I will read diagonals if needed. A lot depends on your client and your venue.

Created by Ciro Marchetti.

Created by Ciro Marchetti. http://www.ciromarchetti.com

LAYOUT B

The image above features the beautiful Gilded Reverie Lenormand available Oct 2013 by US Games Systems, Inc. Generous permission to reproduce image by Ciro Marchetti.

ABOUT THE LAST ROW OF FOUR CARDS

There is another way to read the final four cards. Many European Cartomancers view this row as very significant because these cards reveal what is of the utmost importance in the consultant’s life at the time of the Reading. Some Cartomancers read these four cards as something being hidden from the person getting the Reading. Then there are Cartomancers who do not care about following any particular system and read these cards as just a short row or carry on reading the cards as Houses.  How do I read these four cards? I like breaking the rules here and there so I do what feels right at the time. I have gone through most of the GT and only glimpsed at the cards and used them as a trigger to do an alternative reading. Channeled.

The Significator cards in layout A. sit at the far left side of the layout in the last row. All columns have the same amount of cards. If I go through this layout using the tenses, the diagonals, etc and find I need more information I will study the actual Houses. I like to keep the Lenormand Houses reading separate from one of the “standard” ways of reading the GT. I have one of those cork boards with the names of the Houses written on it with enough space to place the individual cards. Mind you this is quite a large board and I will have to make a smaller one. Since I have obtained some newer mini decks a smaller board is on to do list. If that is still not enough info. I’ll consider combining the corners but generally, I don’t mix too many techniques all at once.

Created by Ciro Marchetti. http://www.ciromarchetti.com

Created by Ciro Marchetti. http://www.ciromarchetti.com

LAYOUT A

The image above features the beautiful Gilded Reverie Lenormand available Oct 2013 by US Games Systems, Inc. Generous permission to reproduce image by Ciro Marchetti.

The cards will speak to you if listen to them.

Which version do you use and why?

8 thoughts on “Which GT 9×4 or 8×4 plus 4?

  1. I started out favouring the 9×4 because that’s how my grandmother reads her fortune-telling cards (not Lenormand) but since learning from many (wonderful and generous) people online I’ve found the majority use 8×4+4, so I have been swayed. :-) Plus I find it easier to locate the Houses with this layout. I haven’t settled on a significance for the final four yet – I suspect, like you, I may also do what feels right at the time.

    • I, like you favour the 9×4. What I like about the 9×4+4 is that the central 4 columns have additional cards plus the Gentleman and Lady are situated in the middle. Yes, follow your gut feelings when selecting layouts and for that matter even when you are studying the individual cards. Sometimes a new word comes into your head for a card meaning. Jot it down if you are keeping any kind of journal or you could get a standard deck of cards & jot on there. I do that. Even if there are no images you can always write down the card name using a marker. Glad your cartomancy journey is enjoyable. Madame Seaqueen.

  2. How can you do 9 x 4 plus 4 ? 9 x 4 uses up all the cards. Do you have a Houses chart that lays out the plus 4 ?

    Thanks, b/c I’ve been doing 9 x 4 houses and don’t know how to layout with + 4.

  3. Madame Seaqueen,

    What hswallace is referring to is that repeatedly here you have referred to the 8×4+4 as the 9×4+4 by mistake, including at the beginning as being choice B.

    Thank you for this informational discussion in the difference between the two styles of GT. I’m just starting with Lenormand, and I’ve wondered what the difference is between the two and which one I’ll prefer, though at this point I feel more drawn to the 8×4+4 layout.

    Namaste,
    ~Diane

  4. HSWALLACE: I apologize for misunderstanding your question. One silly typo ended up being a typo in my answer as well. The post has been edited to correct the typo.
    DIANE: Thank you for your comment & pointing out the typo.

Leave a Reply

