Discover your own Cartomancy personality.

Cartomancy. What exactly does that word mean? In a nutshell the meaning is divination (fortune-telling) by cards. There are thousands and thousands of decks on the market. (Cartomancy and Symbology go hand in hand)

Tarot - traditional 78 cards rooted in Cabala, Astrology and Numerology.

Sibillas - the gossip cards such as Lenormand, Kipper, Zigeuner Wahrsagekarten, Art Deco fortune telling cards and a variety of others including Naipes.

Oracle – animal, angel, tea leaf, I Ching, dominos, etc

Playing cards - regular poker deck. The meanings of the poker deck are usually given for 52 (53 using the  joker), 36 cards English method, 32 cards German Skat method.  I have found that of the dozen playing card systems I compared there is a vast difference in individual card meaning upright and reversed.  I favour the gypsy meanings which are to the point and often quite dramatic. Luckily I have some of the gypsy meanings passed down to me from an aunt in Europe. Of course, then there is the Astrological & Numerical associations.

As a Cartomancer (he or she that performs Cartomancy) you can use any of these category of cards.

Don’t be shy about trying different cards from any of these categories. One thing you need to remember though is not to carry over any rigid methods of study such as the Tarot disciplines. Keep an open mind and trust your own process. It is challenging to change gears with different systems. I think most people need a simple guideline to understand the essence of the cards and the system they are associated with.

If you stop to listen & allow the cards to speak you will always hear their message no matter what system you are using.

Discover your own Cartomancy personality.

4 thoughts on “Discover your own Cartomancy personality.

  1. I love the way you refer to the sibillas as the gossip cards! I guess that’s what makes them so fun to read. :)

    I like your message from this post, and agree with what you say.

    • Hi Jason: It is always meaningful when a cartomancy colleague is on the same frequency :) Hope to get caught up on your latest articles as soon as I kick this silly virus I’m battling right now. Seaqueen.

  2. Hi! I love your website. I’m still slowly learning Lenormand & I see that you have posts in which you interpret spreads for people who contact you, but I don’t see an email or contact button anywhere…

    • Hi: Thank you for your kind words. Yes, (time permitting) I will interpret 3 cards & usually post the reading on my blog. Just state your question with the cards in the comments section. I don’t think wordpress has an email option. Happy Cartomancy. Seaqueen

Leave a Reply

