insights about the Buckland Romani Tarot

QUESTIONS from Comments by LORRAINE:

I saw these cards online and was lucky enough to win a deck on ebay for a great price. I fell in love with the deck when i saw it online, just had to have them. the images are so *real like* Once i got them though, unn, I do say a few cards are quite different. I know to go by what we ourselves see in the cards but still would like help in your view..thanks so much.

ONCE AGAIN THANK YOU LORRAINE FOR YOUR COMMENT and being so patience for my response. I LOVE THIS DECK AS WELL. IN ANSWER TO SOME OF YOUR QUESTIONS I HAVE WRITTEN MY INSIGHTS ABOUT THE CARDS YOU ASKED ABOUT. I am viewing this deck on one of my favourite websites called TAROTECA.  :)

the hierophant from what i undestand is a blacksmith, i do these kinds are hard to find,therefore, we should respect them……………Your view ?

THE BLACKSMITH IS POSITIONED AS THE #5 CARD HIEROPHANT. THE TRADITIONAL MEANING OF THE HIEROPHANT VARIES. ONE MEANING OF THIS CARD IS TO ABIDE BY THE CONVENTIONAL TEACHINGS OF BELIEF SYSTEMS. BASICALLY, TO FOLLOW WHAT WAS…AND NOT QUESTION IS.  THE BLACKSMITH CERTAINLY DOESN’T RESEMBLE THE HIEROPHANT IN THE VISUAL BUT I SUPPOSE HIS CRAFT HAS BEEN PASSED DOWN FROM THE GENERATIONS AS WELL. HE SHOES THE HORSE. THE HIEROPHANT SHOES THE DISCIPLES.  WHAT I SEE WITHIN THE BLACKSMITH CARD IS A PERSON WHO HELPS THOSE (ANIMAL) IN NEED OF SUPPORT.

I understand the following but just to point how different to me are the following, comparing it to the traditional cards. 8 wands, usually, its swift action, something happening fast, busy, and action card. but in the buckland deck, i see the swiftness but also it only has wands stuck in the ground so I’m looking at this as though someone was in the middle of something but had to quickly leave??

THE BUCKLAND 8 OF WANDS IS INTERESTING. IF YOU LOOK CLOSELY AT THE WAY THE WANDS ARE PLACED ON THE GROUND YOU WILL SEE THAT THERE ARE NO OBSTACLES IN THE FORM.  YOU COULD RUN THROUGH QUICKLY WITHOUT HITTING ANY OF THE WANDS WHICH ARE STANDING. I DO SEE SPEED IN THE IMAGE BUT IT TAKES A LITTLE IMAGINATION TO SEE YOURSELF WALKING THROUGH THEM.

page of swords looks like a little s*** disturber, mischeivous, daring, loves danger, but i’m used to seeing this card as getting a message of some kind, i dont see a (getting message) in the buckland deck.

I STUDIED THE PAGE OF SWORDS AND FELT HE HAD JUST DELIVERED A MESSAGE AND WAS SNICKERING ABOUT IT AS IF TO SAY, “LOL IT SUCKS TO BE YOU.”

9 swords in tradtional deck is anxious, worries, sleepless nights due to concers, worry. Bucklnad deck though, wow, so different.??

I SEE WHAT YOU MEAN ABOUT THE 9 OF SWORDS BUT KNOWING THE TRADITIONAL MEANING WILL HELP YOU TO UNDERSTAND THIS CARD. THE MAN IS BUSY WORKING PROBABLY HASN’T SLEPT IN DAYS BECAUSE OF ALL THE WORK STILL TO DO. HE DOES LOOK TIRED (HAIR IS GREY DEPICTING AGING) AND COULD BE WORRIED HE WON’T FINISH HIS TASK. 

devil,is so different in bucklnad deck. i dont see any signs or not understanding any bondage, tied to something etc……

IT LOOKS LIKE THE ‘DEVIL’ IS HAVING SOME FUN ROLLING ON THE GROUND IN LAUGHTER. CABALA TEACHES THAT THE DEVIL CARD REPRESENTS A SENSE OF HUMOUR AS SHOWN WITHIN THIS CARD. YOU ARE RIGHT NO BONDAGE IS SHOWN AS IN THE TRADITIONAL TAROT BUT MOST OF OUR BONDAGE IS IMAGINARY ANYWAY AND THAT IS WHY THE DEVIL IS LAUGHING. HE IS TELLING US TO “LIGHTEN UP”. 

i know seven swords means different things in tradional but for some reason, each one of my readings this far, it comes up to mean stealing, sneakiness, be cautious. buckland tarot deck, ummm?i guess in a way its a sneaky person to be cautious of becaue he sits working at a booth in a carnival..lol and we know those carnnival people..gotta watch it cause you never win an equal amount because its all about taking your money and not giving back equally…

I REALLY LIKE THE ARTWORK FOR THE 7 OF SWORDS. I RESONATE WITH THIS CARD MORE THAN THE TRADITIONAL IMAGERY. WHAT BETTER PERSON TO REPRESENT SLIGHT OF ACTION BECAUSE WE ALL KNOW THE DART BOARD IS TILTED SO IT IS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO HIT THE BULLS EYE. AS FAR AS THE MEANING FOR THIS CARD THE “SNEAKINESS” AS YOU POINTED OUT IS THE MAN IN THE BOOTH KNOWING YOUR ODDS AGAINST THE HITTING THE MARK.

I HOPE THESE FEW INSIGHTS ARE HELPFUL OR AT LEAST SHED A DIFFERENT PERSPECTIVE ON HOW TO INTERPRET CARDS WHICH SEEM TO BE RADICALLY DIFFERENT IN IMAGERY.

Please excuse the font color distribution but I’m not sure why it is not uniform.

One thought on “insights about the Buckland Romani Tarot

  1. Thank you! I cannot tell you how appreciative I am that you’ve posted your views. I like how you view the page of swords…as I stated in my view I called him the little s***. lol so pretty much the same idea, to me anyhow.
    thank you so much!!
    Aside from what you mentionned with the devil card lightening up, I think I will have a hard time still when using it in an actual reading. I will work on that one.
    as for the others, you ‘ve helped tremendoulsy.

    so, obvioulsy the devil card let’s say in a reading would have nothing to do with the tradtional cards *devil*

Leave a Reply

