Father’s Day weekend 2011

I remember Father’s Day 2010 shortly after we buried dear mom with such pain and intensity. If your father is alive don’t forget to tell him he is special.

Dear Dad:

I know I didn’t tell you enough times how special you are to me but I always felt it. I think somehow you knew. When you told me you loved me a few weeks before you died and said you didn’t say it enough to me…I knew what you meant.

I had a chance to tell you what you mean to me in the final days of your life even though at that point you could not speak anymore. I know you heard me because you squeezed my hand so tightly when I told you I loved you.  The tears flowed from your bright blue eyes as I held your hand. Your grip was so strong I really believed you would be around longer but you left me a few short hours later.

Thank you dad for giving me the gift of courage, determination, responsibility and perception.

Happy Father’s day.

Leave a Reply

