Trigger layout tutorial reading

ORIGINALLY POSTED DECEMBER 30, 2008.  MOVED TO CURRENT POST TO DETAIL RESULTS & INSIGHTS From PHOENIX & SPIRITSONG. The reading is 18 days old. 

One of my favorite little spreads I created is the Simple Trigger layout.  I have found that often larger spreads are not needed.  This layout is good when you ask a specific question and are in need of some guidance which has a time frame.  ( instructions on how to prepare this layout —> HERE )   As I have said before you can designate your own timeframe for the IMMEDIATE and SOON spots.  I have chosen 1 month for the purpose of this tutorial example.  Even if you do not have any specific questions, the cards will reveal to you what you need to know.

Sometimes our questions are deeply buried in our subconscious or we are trying to avoid issues which should be addressed.  I had no question in mind.  However, I do have many questions about various areas in my life & will share some of these during the process of interpreting the cards.

Simple Trigger layout using Jeu du destin Lenormand

Simple Trigger layout using Jeu du destin Lenormand

TRIGGER ROW- by zooming into this row you can capture the essence of the reading. RIDER, LADY, HEART, MOON.

News or a situation is on it’s way involving someone or something near and dear to me.  Whatever this is the RIDER suggests the situation has begun in the recent past. Often the MOON depicts a mother.  I am not certain at this point if this is the case.  The cards surrounding HEART are strongly negative.

SPIRITSONG. 

Rider+Woman+Heart+Moon: I took this to mean one of two possibilities; either you are going to hear news from a woman who is close to you, that she has a new romantic relationship, or if you are presently single, that possibly you are about to meet someone new romantically  (forgive me!)

PHOENIX.  

This looks like some new romance. Or it’s a new lease on the things that the “woman’ wants, there is some deeply emotional and or creative desires that she will look into. Both heart and moon, are feeling cards, so love, desires, passions. The heart I see more as an immediate feeling that shows excitement, and something someone desires. Since horseman is behind her, something new has entered her life.

RESULTS.  I ran into an old friend (male) who was was interested in a relationship in the past.  I was not then nor  am  I now.   LOL.

PAST COLUMN- the 2 cards above (CLOUDS, King of Clubs ) and below (STARS) the RIDER  are the contributing cards.

The news carried by the RIDER has created a disturbance.  The only thing I can think of is that my dad has been fighting the stomach flu virus.  The STARS could be interpreted to mean wishes.  What I mean by this is the wish for him to get better.

PHOENIX.

Past-Clouds/horseman/stars-Obviously something needed clarifying due to information, and with stars, always a nice card to see, as the information seems hopeful, able to give some form of guidance.

SPIRITSONG. 

Past: Clouds+Rider+Stars – I would probably interpret that in the past there have been doubts whether the man of the woman’s dreams would ever come – or a past interest was unpredictable and not very grounded, more of a dreamer..

RESULTS- The male I ran into (by pure chance or so it seems) was unpredictable in the past and yes, more of a dreamer.  Clarification was always necessary because he has unattainable goals. 

NOW COLUMN- the top card (LILY, King of Spades) is what I’m thinking about on some level, the bottom card (SNAKE, Queen of Clubs) is a person or situation that I am in the middle of acknowledging in relation to what I’m thinking.

The King of Spades traditionally means an older man.  (It could be an EX husband or EX boyfriend.)The lighter side of the CLOUDS card faces him indicating a minimization of any negative influence.  If the LILY is read, this card is about harmonious circumstances within the family.  I want to read the LILY card as a family situation. The SNAKE card could be a female belonging to the family, like a sister or a daughter.  If the SNAKE card is read to mean a betrayal or a situation which will require me to communicate in a more intellectual manner versus emotional- which is my first line of response.

PHOENIX. 

Present-Lily/Woman/snake-lily/woman can be a older woman, mother figure too. With snake it does indicate some troubles for her.

SPIRITSONG.  

Now: Lily+Woman+Snake- An older woman having problems, or there is an older woman who is deceptive in some way? Or there is resentment, bitterness with this woman? A difficult elder woman somehow is in the mix?…..

RESULTS- I think this might be a new  older female (supervisor) who is connected to a work environment situation for a female acquaintance.  It’s too soon to tell because it is a new situation which just evolved last week.

IMMEDIATE COLUMN- the experience of the HEART card (Jack of Hearts) is revealed by the contributing cards WHIP (Jack of Clubs) and STORK (Queen of Hearts).

What’s coming up real soon, possibly within a day or two will involve someone or something close to my heart. The WHIP card indicates tortured emotions with a struggle to maintain balance.  Traditionally, the WHIP card means a fever or profound pain and since it is next to the LILY card the man is suffering. The LILY card also rules the abdominal/groin area.  A change, the STORK, is inevitable. The Queen of Hearts has a history of depicting a mother as well. The STORK card is followed by the SCYTHE -not a very good omen.

Honestly, I don’t know what this is for sure unless it is my father’s discomfort from the virus.  I hope I have misread these cards because whenever the DEATH, WHIP, SCYTHE, STORK, HEART appear there will be a sudden turn for the worse in a matter closely connected to one on an emotional level.  The reason I am saying ‘worse’ is because it won’t stay the same or get better. The SCYTHE removes and eliminates.

Note- there are a number of probabilities.  I was not really thinking of any one person when I shuffled the cards.

SPIRITSONG. 

Immediate: Whip+Heart+Stork- Shows a passionate relationship (sex) etc. basically hinting that heart is ruling the head – sexual chemistry is high. A fast acting romance.
(I can’t help but wonder if there’s a warning there that the outcome of that passion could be a pregnancy for the woman) but more likely I think it’s describing a whirlwind romance.

PHOENIX. 

Immediate-whip/heart/storks-Now whips in our method represents “sex” as well as the other not so nice meaning of conflict. Because “storks” is there, I don’t see it as negative at all, but there are improvements in either a sexual relationship or changes for the better with something that someone is passionate about.

RESULTS - The virus situation improved greatly, however, a new chronic pain has developed.  In regards to the female mentioned above, she has discovered some hidden feelings for someone in her work environment and not for the older woman either, lol. In relation to the male from my past there is s*e*x*u*a*l* chemistry – he’s a Scorpio.

SOON – 1 MONTH COLUMN- a designated timeframe of about 4 weeks.  At this point I am not interested in 6 months from now, although you could assign 4-6 months if you wish.  The trigger card is the MOON and the circumstances around this card will be shown in the top card (COFFIN) and the bottom card (SCYTHE, Jack of Diamonds)

The COFFIN card points to the end of something.  It could be the end of a suffering situation (LILY +WHIP) around an older man.  Whatever this is, it will cease.  As I mentioned the MOON can represent a mother connection.  It can also mean a sudden, unexpected result or outcome  when surrounded by the COFFIN and in particular the SCYTHE cards.

Since the SCYTHE is the last card it suggests the theme of this reading will not last longer than 4 weeks.  Maybe this is good and maybe it isn’t.  When SCYTHE and the HEART cards combine it always means a rupturing situation.  As a result a major emotional pain is strongly indicated which comes from a situation directly linked to feeling shattered.

My feeling on this reading is that news is still coming or the continuation of situation (RIDER).

The key to this reading is the MOON card.  This card is one of the more challenging to read.  It is not cut and dry as some of the other ones.  The MOON has associations with the public.  How would this fit in?

PHOENIX. 

Soon-coffin/moon/scythe I think that maybe things in the past, as far as all the emotional things going on, that it may have been a bit overwelming, and this trio indicates making a quick decision to end things. Scythe certainly is clear cut. Emotional decisions will be made to make major changes after something is about to come to a halt.

SPIRITSONG.

Future: Coffin+Moon+Scythe- It looks like it burns out pretty quickly though, as in about a month’s time, feelings change to the point of ending the relationship. The person may even be shocked that it ends so quickly. Definite breakup here – so I hope you’re hearing about some other woman and it’s not about you! Lol

RESULTS.   I think more time is needed to see this outcome as there is no situation that reflects our consensus of  any type of break up so far ……  I would think something would need to start before it breaks up??

SNAKE + HEART + COFFIN in the diagonal line can suggest the end of a relationship for the Queen of Clubs.

SPIRITSONG. 

Snake+Heart +Coffin: Troublesome romance that ends…or there’s a woman who interferes and breaks it up…(possibly that older woman I described..)

In another diagonal line, LILY + HEART + SCYTHE suggest a nasty situation to someone in the family or to the King of Spades. The harmony associated with the LILY card – stops.

SPIRITSONG.  

Lily+Heart+Scythe: maybe this is a “mature” romance….someone you know who is older? That ends suddenly. The peaceful, satisfied heart of this person gets a shock.

RESULTS.  – The theme from the diagonals  ties in with the ‘soon’ spot.  It has not been a month since the reading was done.  The troublesome  or mature woman could be the supervisor in the workplace of the female acquaintance. 

The only thing I can think of, and this is a long shot, is that the acquaintance and the older female are attracted to the same male.   Again, this needs to be confirmed if and when it happens.  

MOON + SCYTHE is akin to the slicing through of one’s illusions – it’s a reality check.  There is an eerie similarity to the Tarot TOWER card.

SPIRITSONG.

Moon+Scythe: I like your take on slicing through illusions, like in the tarot, that’s really good. I would also add, emotional shock, emotional decision, a break up, emotional rejection…

PHOENIX.

With the diagonals snake/heart/coffin and lily/heart/scythe this does suggest some deceit in a relationship, it is a relationship that has gone on for a while, or it could be an elderly couple making clean and clear cut irreversible decision. If I didn’t know any better, I would say that perhaps someone is having an affair?? But all in all, it is an intense emotional draw.Does anyone else want to share their insights on this reading or any of the card combinations?

RESULTS –  In all fairness,  a little more time is needed to make a comment on this section.  I’ll post an update in a few weeks or when I feel some news has come to me that fits this reading.

Thank you Phoenix and Spiritsong for participating in this tutorial.

14 thoughts on “Trigger layout tutorial reading

  1. Hi Sea Queen,

    It’s late at the moment so I’m off to bed very shortly, but I’ll be back to give my full comment in the morning. I don’t see this draw as a troubling throw, only that the woman is feeling troubled with the snake next to her. I want to give this one my full attention so I won’t try and do it now. I’ll be back!!

    Phoenix

  2. Hi Sea Queen,

    Firstly looking at the Trigger row, and because I use Sylvie’s meanings it might be a bit different but only slightly..This looks like some new romance. Or it’s a new lease on the things that the “woman’ wants, there is some deeply emotional and or creative desires that she will look into. Both heart and moon, are feeling cards, so love, desires, passions. The heart I see more as an immediate feeling that shows excitement, and something someone desires. Since horseman is behind her, something new has entered her life.

    Past-Clouds/horseman/stars-Obviously something needed clarifying due to information, and with stars, always a nice card to see, as the information seems hopeful, able to give some form of guidance.

    Present-Lily/Woman/snake-lily/woman can be a older woman, mother figure too. With snake it does indicate some troubles for her.

    Immediate-whip/heart/storks-Now whips in our method represents “sex” as well as the other not so nice meaning of conflict. Because “storks” is there, I don’t see it as negative at all, but there are improvements in either a sexual relationship or changes for the better with something that someone is passionate about.

    Soon-coffin/moon/scythe I think that maybe things in the past, as far as all the emotional things going on, that it may have been a bit overwelming, and this trio indicates making a quick decision to end things. Scythe certainly is clear cut. Emotional decisions will be made to make major changes after something is about to come to a halt.

    If tree was in the mix, I might of thought it was a health issue, but it’s not so I can’t go on that line…I only see the clouds and snake as the problem cards which is good that they are sitting in past and present, so it will be over now. The future looks more encouraging with storks there, whip I see mostly as a positive in this draw with heart and storks.

    With the diagonals snake/heart/coffin and lily/heart/scythe this does suggest some deceit in a relationship, it is a relationship that has gone on for a while, or it could be an elderly couple making clean and clear cut irreversible decision. If I didn’t know any better, I would say that perhaps someone is having an affair?? But all in all, it is an intense emotional draw.

    Phoenix

  3. Hi Madame SeaQueen – Happy New Year.

    I followed through your thoughts, and see how you got there; but a completely different story came to me when I looked at the Trigger Row. I’ll just throw out some ideas and see if there’s anything in there that might resonate…..

    Rider+Woman+Heart+Moon: I took this to mean one of two possibilities; either you are going to hear news from a woman who is close to you, that she has a new romantic relationship, or if you are presently single, that possibly you are about to meet someone new romantically  (forgive me!)

    Past: Clouds+Rider+Stars – I would probably interpret that in the past there have been doubts whether the man of the woman’s dreams would ever come – or a past interest was unpredictable and not very grounded, more of a dreamer..

    Now: Lily+Woman+Snake- An older woman having problems, or there is an older woman who is deceptive in some way? Or there is resentment, bitterness with this woman? A difficult elder woman somehow is in the mix?…..

    Immediate: Whip+Heart+Stork- Shows a passionate relationship (sex) etc. basically hinting that heart is ruling the head – sexual chemistry is high. A fast acting romance.
    (I can’t help but wonder if there’s a warning there that the outcome of that passion could be a pregnancy for the woman) but more likely I think it’s describing a whirlwind romance.

    Future: Coffin+Moon+Scythe- It looks like it burns out pretty quickly though, as in about a month’s time, feelings change to the point of ending the relationship. The person may even be shocked that it ends so quickly. Definite breakup here – so I hope you’re hearing about some other woman and it’s not about you! Lol

    Snake+Heart +Coffin: Troublesome romance that ends…or there’s a woman who interferes and breaks it up…(possibly that older woman I described..)

    Lily+Heart+Scythe: maybe this is a “mature” romance….someone you know who is older? That ends suddenly. The peaceful, satisfied heart of this person gets a shock.

    Moon+Scythe: I like your take on slicing through illusions, like in the tarot, that’s really good. I would also add, emotional shock, emotional decision, a break up, emotional rejection…

    On the far out side, that the Storks actually represented a pregnancy, the Moon, which can also refer to female organs and hormones & the Scythe could possibly be talking about an abortion? Or an sudden end to a pregnancy? (Stork-Scythe)

    I think most likely you might hear about a whirlwind romance that ends in a shock – hopefully without the added complications….

    Or Nothing of the sort!! I’ll be interested to hear though 

    Best wishes,
    Spiritsong

  4. Happy New Year Spiritsong,

    Thank you for your insights. I will post them on the blog as well for others to read.(Phoenix has left her interpretation as well) I like sharing feedback (especially layouts) with all who read the blog. We all have slightly different angles we work from with the Lenormand.

    I am happy to receive analysis of the Lenormand. It’s fun to compare. There was another reading I posted and received a surprise at the ‘real’ outcome of the layout, lol.

    All the best,
    Madame Seaqueen

  5. Hi Sea Queen

    the difference to in the interpretation may also be due to the fact that we read with Sylvie’s method, but because you’re trained with the tradtional, what you draw may also be related to the traditional meanings, so there is where we may have a slight difference either far or slightly.
    Look forward to seeing how it panned out in the end.

    Phoenix

  6. Hi SeaQueen

    I just wanted to let you know how much I (still) enjoy reading your blog and also how much I love this spread of yours; definitely has turned out to be my favorite Lenormand spread. Brilliant!

    Thank you!

    xxx
    Nina

  7. Hi Sea Queen,

    Thanks for the update. It is interesting to see how it all panned out, and also some lessons for me, as to the interpretation. It was obviously a “past relationship” not a present one, shown in the trigger row.

    Phoenix

  8. Hi Seaqueen!
    I’ve been reading your blog and love this layout. BUT I have a question. Now in the layout tutorial, we are to pick out “our card” and lay that in the “you” position. But I noticed in your reading and the one I read on spiritsongs blog that it is not read as “I”, it is interpretted as another woman? This puzzles me because of if it is always read that way, then wouldn’t another woman ALWAYS be in the reading? What is the purpose of picking out the you card when it ends up being interpretted as another person/female or male? Is it ever read as being you, the reader or the sitter instead of someone else?

    I honestly am asking this to learn and not trying to sound like an idiot (or smartbutt lol cause sometimes my wording doesn’t relfect how I’m actually saying it).

    I really want to try this layout, but since I’m confused about that I want to wait so I don’t confuse myself anymore than I do lol

    Carly

  9. Hi Carly,

    Thanks very much for your comment and compliment.
    The ‘you’ card which is selected out of the (any) deck represents you & in the case of the Lenormand it is the ‘lady’.

    This card is the starting point of the reading. The trigger row is studied first and then the Now column to give you an idea of what the cards are detailing. I always use the ‘you’ card to be the person getting the reading.

    I think where the confusion might lie is in the card beneath the ‘lady’. It is the Snake card (Queen of Clubs) which is often read as another woman especially if it touches the Heart card. Since the proximity of the ‘lady’ is so close the suggestion is there is another female involved.

    The Simple Trigger Layout is a very informative spread. Stay tuned as I have started another tutorial blog dedicated especially to the Trigger Layout.

    I hope this clears up some of your questions. Please do not hesitate to ask more.

    Madame Seaqueen.

  10. Ah thank you, now I see and I did go reread the question you asked so it makes much better sense now with what you said. I’m definitely going to be trying this layout and look forward to another tutorial on the trigger layout!

    Thanks for answering this!
    Carly:)

  11. Dear Josefa,
    I can say that I’ve learned a lot from you and the trigger layout. A great spread that I use most often. Thank you for all the info you are giving out.
    I have been using the Lenormand for sometime now and wish to share a spread with you hoping for some help. It gets me a bit confused.
    General reading no question asked.
    Cards fell as follows :
    Snake+Heart+Ring+Lillies
    Scythe+Lady+Gent+Moon
    Ship+Stars+Tree+Storks

    Even I wasn’t asking a question I am a bit preoccupied with the thought of a man that I had a relationship with long time ago.

    For me this spread says that there is a good possibility that we end up together again but what confuses me is the Snake and the Storks cards. He lives with another woman at the moment ( that fits the description of the Stork) and I wonder if that commitment (Ring) is with me or foretells that they will end up married.

    Since the Ring falls above the Gent and after the Snake card (which is pointing to another woman), but the Gent is falling right after me I keep getting confused. I really need your help to determine who this commitment refers to.

    I suppose that the Stork here means a return of a former partner or at least changes regarding that person or me.

    Thank you so much in advance.

Leave a Reply

