1730 Doppeldeutsche Schnapskarten

The deck illustrated below shows the 10′s from the 1730 Doppeldeutsche Schnapskarten deck. My deck is probably 25-30 years old and consists of only 24 cards. I am not certain if the same deck is still available but similar ones do exist with 33 cards. It is my understanding that this deck was purchased in Budapest, Hungary. They are called “Magyar kártya” which means Hungarian playing cards. They are also known as Tell-Cards. József Schneider created this deck somewhere around the early 1800′s.

www.piatnik.com

1730-piatnik.jpg

10 of LEAVES = the suggested meaning for this card is a significant amount of money or financial increase. It would be similar to the #34 FISH card of Madame Lenormand

Leaves have been related to the Spades suit. The Wands in Tarot.

10 of ACORNS = the suggested meaning of this card is business & career matters. Cards nearby would expand on a work situation or business developments. It is linked to the ANCHOR of the Lenormand cards.

Acorns have been related to the Clubs suit. The Swords in Tarot.

10 of HEARTS = family affairs and situations related to the home are represented by this card. I would equate it to the #4 HOUSE of the Lenormand cards.

Hearts have been related to the Hearts suit. The Cups in Tarot.

10 of BELLS = the represented meaning of this card is a time frame, 3-6 months. Cards surrounding this 10 will suggest the outcome of whatever the theme of the cards is to manifest within half a year or so. The Lenormand deck does have time cards but not exactly 6 months.

Bells have been related to the Diamonds suit. The Pentacles in Tarot.

To me, it makes more sense to link the LEAVES with the DIAMONDS & PENTACLES suits.

The ACORNS with the CLUBS & WANDS suits.

The BELLS with SPADES & SWORDS suits.

 

More of my descriptions on these types of cards ——> info <——

16 thoughts on “1730 Doppeldeutsche Schnapskarten

  1. Hello,
    A belong to a local Cincinnati chapter of the International Donauschwaben society. It’s my experience, at least for our club/group that we play a game we call Fuchs (German for fox). In fact, I am in the process of trying to find an easy source for obtaining decks of these cards. Normally the cards we use are made by Piatnik and are called Doppeldeutsche Nr. 1884. That deck has 33 cards, but we only use 24 cards.

    I have been to Europe a couple of times. On the first trip (1991) I found a similar deck in Hungary, that had slightly different pictures and names on a couple of the cards. On my last trip (2002) I found a Piatnik deck that had only 24 cards, but one of the cards was not a card we use in our game of Fuchs. Therefore, I used a marker to write in the card denomination. It was a minor card (not worth any points in our game), but I did not want to throw away 10 packs of cards because of one card. I wrote Piatnik to request the one card that was missing and available in the 33 card deck, but they did not answer me. I would have bought many more of the 24 card decks, if they would have allowed me to buy the single card that was missing.

    I am in the process currently of having a “customized” made from a playing card company. In fact, I am looking at having the Donauschwaben logo put on one side. We’re also looking at changing the faces on the characters to honor some of past members that were avid Fuchs players.

    If you are interested, I have made a couple of instruction sheets in a couple formats Microsoft Publisher and jpeg. It has all the cards with their name, power ranking and point value. Their is also a summary of the instructions. It in in a 11′ x 17″ format that I have taken to a local office supply store to have printed and laminated. Since the pictures are different from most anyone has used, having it in front of the new player is a big help AND it makes a great placemat!

    I have played a lot of “partner Card Games” in the past and this game is fun and challenging. I used to like to play double deck Pinochle from sun set to sun rise. In Fuchs, you do not always know who your partner is at first, in fact at times I have seen a whole hand played and still didn’t know who the partner was till after the hand played. You have a different partner every time you deal, and if you have good cards you can choose to play alone.

    There is money evolved in the game we play. We use nickles and you can for hours and win and/or lose a dollar or two. Money is a way to keep score and to brag about your ability/luck! In the old country they have used beans or stones also instead of money, if you do not want to use money.

    Let me know if you want the Instruction sheet I have created.

    Sorry for the length of this e-mail, but I think it makes these deck of cards fun and usable!

    • Hi there,

      I have a deck of Nr. 1886 Piatnik Doppeldeutsche, which has 36 cards – I have no idea how to play this game and not quite sure why I purchased them – in 1976 – in Hungry I think!! What can I do with them

      Julie Stapleton
      South Australia

    • When I was a kid my parents, grandmother, aunt and uncle
      played Fuchs. Unfortunately it’s been so long since we
      played that we’ve lost a lot of the rules. The game was usually played with 5 players. I believe there was bidding
      involved and the person who won the bid got to “call” a partner by naming a card that was not trump. The person
      who held that card was the partner and it was 3 against 2.

      Please let me know if this sounds familiar and where
      I could find a copy of the rules of the game.

      Thanks.

    • Hello!

      I live in an old apartment in Austria. I found an old deck of Doppeldeutsche Schnapskarten, Nr. 1760. The box is aged, but the deck is complete and in perfect condition. It looks like it is made from the original Ferd. Piatnik & Söhne Wien XIV in Vienna.

      I am a young American and do not know the rules of the game. Could you send me your instruction sheet at bonaparte_frederic@yahoo.com? It would be a lot of fun to play with my German colleagues who also do not know the rules.

      P.S. I find this apartment stuck in a time warp with old books and cookbooks, cookware and dinner sets from Germany and Austria. Even bed sheets and other stuff from the late 60′s to 70′s. Kind of funny that it was left behind.

  2. Hi Bob,

    Thanks very much for your information. I would like to share and quote part of your comment in an upcoming post. It is valuable information that you have written about and I feel that others would benefit from what you have stated.
    This deck was given to me about 2 decades ago by a Hungarian lady I knew through another connection. I am not certain how long she had this actual deck, that I now own.

    Please let me know if you have any other additional information or a website link I can add within my post. Thanks again.

    Seaqueen

  3. I just found 2 decks of cards that my mother left me, one you have shown as the Magyar kártya on my deck it has 32 cards, the X of leaves dont have that little hourse on it, its just plain without the horse and another deck I have not found out about, My mother was a medium in Hungry I think she brought them with her when she and my dad came over. The other deck has 57 cards 2 are blank, one one of the clubs card maybe a knight has this written on it JATEKKARTYAGAR es NYOMDA, BUDAPEST, Vll Rittebbukker utica 17, can you tell me anything about them?

  4. Hello,
    Thanks for your comment. I am not sure about the deck you are asking about. I think you may find it on a great website http://trionfi.com/m/
    which has the largest collection of fortune telling card I am aware of.
    The 32 sounds like the Biedermeir deck which is the same as the Zigeuner Wahrsagekarten deck excluding four cards.
    Madame Seaqueen.

  5. Thank you so much for responding, I just feel there is a message from my mom in finding the cards in the first place, I thought I accidently threw them out about 2 years ago, I feel her strong presents but I dont know what she is trying to say, but there is a reason for me finding them now, I will look at the site and try to find the cards there.

  6. The cards that I have are Piatnik Doppeldeutsche 36 Blatt Nr1964 is on the box. The cards belonged to my in-laws and we used to play two different games – 1 was called schnapple’s played with 2 players and needed 66 points to win. The other game was called claverits sorry but my spelling of these two games I’m sure is not correct. I sure wish I could find out how to play it again. There were marriages like K & Q – jqk -jqka and a few other ones. There usually was 3 people that played and 2 of them were against you. You could say contra to double your money.

Leave a Reply

